DPlot Forum Index DPlot
http://www.dplot.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

first use of dplotjr

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DPlot Forum Index -> Bug Reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
simply



Joined: 25 Sep 2006
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 5:56 pm    Post subject: first use of dplotjr Reply with quote

Hi David,
I Installed a program that use Dplot jr, in Pc.
when the program started for the first time, dplotjr is opened unhidden, and after the first use, it starts normally(hidden).
Even if I uninstall the program, and delete all references to dplotjr in the registry, if I re install the program, i don't have the same probleme!!!

it was tested in 3 systems Vista, XP, and sever 2003.

I use this code(VB) to start Dplot:
Code:
Dim Ret As Long
Ret = DPlot_Start(1, Ret)

________


Last edited by simply on Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:05 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 2290
Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi

PostPosted: Tue Dec 23, 2008 9:31 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not getting the same results here, but I think this is likely a problem with the settings file %APPDATA%\DPlot\dplotjr.ini. If you delete the file, then run your program, does the same problem occur? My guess is yes.

One more question: What anti-virus program are you running? The reason I ask is an older version of McAfee I previously used slowed down writing files to %APPDATA% by quite a bit - apparently it thought that folder could be used for something nefarious. If that's what is occurring it could explain the problem - DPlot Jr is maximized by default until you change that setting. But "maximized" and "hidden" don't get along well, so when you try to start the program hidden, DPLOTLIB.DLL writes a line to dplotjr.ini that tells it not to start maximized. It's possible that the file is not updated before dplotjr.exe is started.
_________________
David Hyde
support@dplot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
simply



Joined: 25 Sep 2006
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 9:30 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

DPlotAdmin wrote:
I'm not getting the same results here, but I think this is likely a problem with the settings file %APPDATA%\DPlot\dplotjr.ini. If you delete the file, then run your program, does the same problem occur? My guess is yes.


I deleted the ini file, but the problem didn't occur!!!

DPlotAdmin wrote:

One more question: What anti-virus program are you running? The reason I ask is an older version of McAfee I previously used slowed down writing files to %APPDATA% by quite a bit - apparently it thought that folder could be used for something nefarious. If that's what is occurring it could explain the problem - DPlot Jr is maximized by default until you change that setting. But "maximized" and "hidden" don't get along well, so when you try to start the program hidden, DPLOTLIB.DLL writes a line to dplotjr.ini that tells it not to start maximized. It's possible that the file is not updated before dplotjr.exe is started.


I m' not running any antivirus, it's an empty pc, just the operating system, and my program.
________


Last edited by simply on Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:06 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
simply



Joined: 25 Sep 2006
Posts: 40

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 10:04 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

simply wrote:
DPlotAdmin wrote:
I'm not getting the same results here, but I think this is likely a problem with the settings file dplotjr.ini. If you delete the file, then run your program, does the same problem occur? My guess is yes.


I deleted the ini file, but the problem didn't occur!!!


It occurs, when i delete the path %APPDATA%\DPlot\, not just the ini file.
________


Last edited by simply on Mon Sep 12, 2011 2:06 pm; edited 2 times in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 2290
Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 12:15 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Ah! That's a good catch, thanks.

I'll fix this in the next release.
_________________
David Hyde
support@dplot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 2290
Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi

PostPosted: Wed Dec 24, 2008 6:44 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I've uploaded new DLL's that correct this problem. The standard stdcall version is available from http://www.dplot.com/lib/dplotlib.dll. The cdecl version is at http://www.dplot.com/lib/dplotlib_cc.dll.

In these versions the %APPDATA%\DPlot folder is created before running dplot.exe or dplotjr.exe if that folder does not already exist.

Thanks for pointing out the problem, and for your good detective work!
_________________
David Hyde
support@dplot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DPlot Forum Index -> Bug Reports All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group