DPlot Forum Index DPlot
http://www.dplot.com

FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

How do I create a contour plot with transperant background?

View previous topic :: View next topic  
periksen

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 6:56 am    Post subject: How do I create a contour plot with transperant background? Reply with quote

Hi, I am new to dPlot, having purchased it today.

It is working brilliantly so far except for one small issue: I want to create a contour plot with a transperant background. How do I do this, please?

I want to overlay pollution contours (created with dPlot from an XYZ file) on Google Earth (using a KML file for placement in a LatLon box at the appropriate location).

At the moment the contour plot obscures the Google Earth image unless I edit it to make the JPG image saved from dPlot partially transparent in an external video editing program. It would better if the original image saved from dPlot didn't have anything 'between' the contours, if that is possible. Perhaps the problem is that I am saving to JPG format ... would another format work better and if so, what format? Or is there some setting somewhere in dPlot that will allow a fully transparent background with just the contour lines visible?

Grateful for an answer to this question.

Thanks - Peter Eriksen, Melbourne Australia
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin

PostPosted: Tue Dec 21, 2010 8:39 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I'm not sure if Google Earth will allow you to import a metafile - if it does then that format will work much better than any of the bitmap formats. (The background isn't drawn in metafiles.) I'll try to look into this later today.