Troubles specifying extents for logx/lineary graph
Moderator: DPlotAdmin
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 9:18 am
Troubles specifying extents for logx/lineary graph
Just wanted to thank you again for the copious help and support you've already given me. Unfortunately, I still have some questions. I am feeding dplot some manualscale info for a logarithmic x/linear y graph, but dplot ignores the scaling info. I can go in after the fact and specify the extents manually, but it isn't working programatically. Any suggestions?
Thanks again,
Arthur
Thanks again,
Arthur
- DPlotAdmin
- Posts: 2312
- Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 9:34 pm
- Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi
- Contact:
Hi Arthur,
Thanks for your comments.
I tried an example using logarithmic x, linear y just now and it worked fine. Couple of questions:
After you create your plot using [ManualScale(...)], select Options>Extents/Tick Marks/Size and see if "Specify extents" is checked. If it is not, then yes, DPlot really did ignore the command, probably indicative of an error in the command. If it is checked, how are the shown extents different than those you specified?
And please show me the exact sequence you're using in your program with the ManualScale command.
Thanks for your comments.
I tried an example using logarithmic x, linear y just now and it worked fine. Couple of questions:
After you create your plot using [ManualScale(...)], select Options>Extents/Tick Marks/Size and see if "Specify extents" is checked. If it is not, then yes, DPlot really did ignore the command, probably indicative of an error in the command. If it is checked, how are the shown extents different than those you specified?
And please show me the exact sequence you're using in your program with the ManualScale command.
Visualize Your Data
support@dplot.com
support@dplot.com
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 9:18 am
This is the command string I am feeding to Dplot...
D.Version = DPLOT_DDE_VERSION
D.DataFormat = DATA_XYXY
D.MaxCurves = NumCurves
D.MaxPoints = MaxRows - HasHeading
D.NumCurves = NumCurves
D.ScaleCode = SCALE_LOGX_LINEARY
D.Title1 = "Geometric Distortion"
D.Title2 = lensname
D.XAxis = "Focal Length"
D.YAxis = "Distortion as percent of frame width"
[Caption("Geometric Distortion")][ManualScale(0,-2,300,2)][NumberFormat(0,0)][NumberFormat(1,0)][NumTicks(1,4,4)][Color(1,255,75,25)][Color(2,75,125,205)][SetPluginImageDims(500, 425, 8)][TextFont(1,8,400,0,0,0,0,"Arial")][TextFont(2,10,700,0,0,0,0,"Arial")][TextFont(3,9,400,0,0,0,0,"Arial")][TextFont(4,8,700,0,0,0,0,"Arial")][TextFont(5,8,700,0,0,0,0,"Arial")][TextFont(6,8,400,0,0,0,0,"Arial")][TextFont(7,1,400,0,0,0,0,"Arial")][TextFont(8,1,400,0,0,0,0,"Arial")]
After passing this command string to Dplot, the specify extents checkbox is still not checked. When I check it, I can modify the extents and the changes I enter are reflected in the graph. However, the numticks command only seems to have an effect on the y axis tick marks. Manually modification of the x-axis ticks doesn't seem to have an effect, either. Is there some kind of option I inadvertantly checked? Any ideas?
Thanks again,
Arthur
D.Version = DPLOT_DDE_VERSION
D.DataFormat = DATA_XYXY
D.MaxCurves = NumCurves
D.MaxPoints = MaxRows - HasHeading
D.NumCurves = NumCurves
D.ScaleCode = SCALE_LOGX_LINEARY
D.Title1 = "Geometric Distortion"
D.Title2 = lensname
D.XAxis = "Focal Length"
D.YAxis = "Distortion as percent of frame width"
[Caption("Geometric Distortion")][ManualScale(0,-2,300,2)][NumberFormat(0,0)][NumberFormat(1,0)][NumTicks(1,4,4)][Color(1,255,75,25)][Color(2,75,125,205)][SetPluginImageDims(500, 425, 8)][TextFont(1,8,400,0,0,0,0,"Arial")][TextFont(2,10,700,0,0,0,0,"Arial")][TextFont(3,9,400,0,0,0,0,"Arial")][TextFont(4,8,700,0,0,0,0,"Arial")][TextFont(5,8,700,0,0,0,0,"Arial")][TextFont(6,8,400,0,0,0,0,"Arial")][TextFont(7,1,400,0,0,0,0,"Arial")][TextFont(8,1,400,0,0,0,0,"Arial")]
After passing this command string to Dplot, the specify extents checkbox is still not checked. When I check it, I can modify the extents and the changes I enter are reflected in the graph. However, the numticks command only seems to have an effect on the y axis tick marks. Manually modification of the x-axis ticks doesn't seem to have an effect, either. Is there some kind of option I inadvertantly checked? Any ideas?
Thanks again,
Arthur
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 9:18 am
- DPlotAdmin
- Posts: 2312
- Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 9:34 pm
- Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi
- Contact:
Yes, but probably not in the way you mean. With the ManualScale command you're trying to set the low X extent to 0 on a logarithmic scale. This is physically impossible. The code that parses command strings checks against either extent being < 0 and simply ignores the command if that's the case.Also, the axes at zero option doesn't seem to work. Are these related?
"Axes at zero" should work for the Y axis in this case but doesn't - it's ignored for both X and Y if either axis uses logarithmic scaling. I'll correct that next time out.
Visualize Your Data
support@dplot.com
support@dplot.com
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 9:18 am
- DPlotAdmin
- Posts: 2312
- Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 9:34 pm
- Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi
- Contact:
Not in the current version. In the next release many parameters will be optional, including those used in ManualScale. For example
[ManualScale(,ylo,,yhi)]
will set the Y extents and use the actual data extents (or previously set X extents) for X.
[ManualScale(,ylo,,yhi)]
will set the Y extents and use the actual data extents (or previously set X extents) for X.
Visualize Your Data
support@dplot.com
support@dplot.com
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 9:18 am
- DPlotAdmin
- Posts: 2312
- Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 9:34 pm
- Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi
- Contact:
More than a couple of days. Most likely around the end of August.Any idea when that will be released? Just want to know if I should kill myself writing scaling into my code, or just wait a couple days.
Visualize Your Data
support@dplot.com
support@dplot.com
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 9:18 am
- DPlotAdmin
- Posts: 2312
- Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 9:34 pm
- Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi
- Contact:
Arthur,
Sorry, but my schedule has been pushed back a bit by events. I'll get the new release out as soon as possible.
Sorry, but my schedule has been pushed back a bit by events. I'll get the new release out as soon as possible.
Visualize Your Data
support@dplot.com
support@dplot.com
-
- Posts: 30
- Joined: Fri Jul 15, 2005 9:18 am
- DPlotAdmin
- Posts: 2312
- Joined: Tue Jun 24, 2003 9:34 pm
- Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi
- Contact:
No, that's handled within the updated dplot.exe (or dplotjr.exe), not the Add-In or DPLOTLIB.DLL.
Visualize Your Data
support@dplot.com
support@dplot.com