DPlot Forum Index DPlot
http://www.dplot.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Contour and x-y plots on same graph?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DPlot Forum Index -> Suggestions/Questions
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
bkoederitz



Joined: 17 Feb 2010
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:40 pm    Post subject: Contour and x-y plots on same graph? Reply with quote

Is it possible to make a contour plot from x,y,z data and then plot a set of x-y data on top of it? An example application is testing an optimization scheme, where I would like to show a contour plot of the objective function and then the path of the optimization search points on the contour plot?
________
Mazda M5 transmission specifications


Last edited by bkoederitz on Mon Feb 07, 2011 1:20 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 2286
Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi

PostPosted: Wed Feb 17, 2010 12:50 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, but it can only be done via a macro presently as there are still some issues to work out. See http://www.dplot.com/blog/2009/07/plot-overlays.html
_________________
David Hyde
support@dplot.com


Last edited by DPlotAdmin on Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:41 pm; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DanC



Joined: 10 Feb 2019
Posts: 1

PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 7:38 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have the same question. Is it possible to plot x-y data on a contour plot? The response to the previous said there were some issues to be worked out in 2010. Is it now possible?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 2286
Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi

PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

The OverlayDocument macro command is the only way, at present. 2D on 3D should work fine. You'll likely run into problems is you attempt to superimpose 2 3D plots.
_________________
David Hyde
support@dplot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DPlot Forum Index -> Suggestions/Questions All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group