DPlot Forum Index DPlot
http://www.dplot.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

DPlot 2.3.5.7 File > Close closes wrong plot ?

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DPlot Forum Index -> Bug Reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Schwer



Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Location: Windsor, CA

PostPosted: Sat Sep 15, 2018 2:11 pm    Post subject: DPlot 2.3.5.7 File > Close closes wrong plot ? Reply with quote

Hello David --

This could be something odd with my Windows 7 64 Bit machine. I recently noticed if I have two plots open in the same DPlot window, i.e. open DPlot-1 and then from Windows Explorer double click to launch DPlot-2, if I use File>Close on DPlot-2 -- DPlot-2 remains visible but DPlot-1 is gone. Although, if I look under the "Window" menu DPlot-1 is listed and check marked?

This problem goes away if I use File>Open to open both DPlot-1 and DPlot-2.

Please advise, --len
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 2281
Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:49 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I have not been able to duplicate this problem, but will look into it.
_________________
David Hyde
support@dplot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Schwer



Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Location: Windsor, CA

PostPosted: Sun Sep 16, 2018 12:24 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks David.

If I use the File>Open menu for all DPlot files, then there is no problem, but if I double click on an existing DPlot, or use the File > recently opened DPlot files, then the odd behavior I described occurs.

Let me know if you want me to do some testing. --len
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
James Gran



Joined: 11 Jul 2011
Posts: 7

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 9:53 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

I don't get the result you describe. A related issue I've had is when I have several Dplots open and when I move from one to another or close one, the wrong plot is displayed. I surmised that it was a memory problem because it only happened when I had multiple large plots open. My fix was to create a Macro called Redraw
ViewRedraw() and assign Ctrl-Shift-R to it. So when it happened I just redrew and the correct plot would display.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 2281
Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi

PostPosted: Tue Sep 18, 2018 7:12 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

That's a remarkable workaround you came up with. Thanks for sharing.

What should happen in a low memory situation is when the plots are redrawn, they are drawn directly to the screen rather than to a bitmap (which is then sent to the screen). The problem with drawing directly to the screen is the plot must be redrawn if it is covered/uncovered, or if DPlot is minimized/restored. But it sounds like that isn't working in your case.
_________________
David Hyde
support@dplot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
jsc



Joined: 02 Dec 2005
Posts: 221

PostPosted: Wed Sep 19, 2018 9:47 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I think I have had similar situations, Win7x64, even w 8gb memory, and several large plots open. I would try to save carefully, and if I "got lost" because I wasn't sure what plot that I was dealing with, I would close everything and just start over. I never was so clever as to try to redraw the screen. But I have definitely noticed the issue.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Schwer



Joined: 29 Sep 2005
Posts: 56
Location: Windsor, CA

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2018 9:40 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

David --

I am not sure this bug is related to memory limitations.

Will there be a forth coming fix, or do we need to implement the Jim Gran work around? --len
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 2281
Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi

PostPosted: Wed Sep 26, 2018 10:56 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Since I've been unable to duplicate the problem, it isn't possible to predict when it will be fixed. But I'll keep trying.
_________________
David Hyde
support@dplot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DPlot Forum Index -> Bug Reports All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group