DPlot Forum Index DPlot
http://www.dplot.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

copy data - paste in new document = corrupted data

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DPlot Forum Index -> Bug Reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Roberto



Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 102
Location: Netherlands Beek en Donk

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 5:24 pm    Post subject: copy data - paste in new document = corrupted data Reply with quote

Hi,

When copying data from a curve with negative and positive x- and y-values the pasted data in a new empty plot is severely corrupted:
• all positive x values are incorrect (simply sample numbers instead of x-values).
• negative y-values are replaced by zero

Yet, the data on the clipboard itself is correct.
_________________
Roberto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 2289
Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

"Yet, the data on the clipboard itself is correct."

Which says that the problem lies with whatever program you are pasting into, doesn't it?

Edit: Oh wait, I didn't first understand that the target app was DPlot. I tried an example just now with Y=sin(pi*X) with -4 < X < 4, and it works as expected.

Unless this is some weird international settings deal I can't imagine why this would fail. You're welcome to send an example.
_________________
David Hyde
support@dplot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Roberto



Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 102
Location: Netherlands Beek en Donk

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:11 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

---
_________________
Roberto


Last edited by Roberto on Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:45 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roberto



Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 102
Location: Netherlands Beek en Donk

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:13 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

---
_________________
Roberto


Last edited by Roberto on Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:45 am; edited 1 time in total
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roberto



Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 102
Location: Netherlands Beek en Donk

PostPosted: Wed Feb 22, 2017 6:14 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

OK, will do tomorrow. Go to bed now.

Yes, international might be involved.

Nighty night Razz
_________________
Roberto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
Roberto



Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 102
Location: Netherlands Beek en Donk

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 2:44 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

Requested example plot: www.robemus.com/temp/Test-copy.grf

If you copy a solid lined curve data set and paste it in a new DPlot document the pasted data set is different from the original.

Dutch system so comma is dot and vice versa for numbers.
_________________
Roberto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 2289
Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 12:32 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

It works fine for me with a comma as decimal point. At your convenience please copy a curve, paste into Notepad, and send that text file to support@dplot.com.
_________________
David Hyde
support@dplot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Roberto



Joined: 16 Mar 2008
Posts: 102
Location: Netherlands Beek en Donk

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 5:06 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

What do you mean with 'At your convenience...'?
Do you need the pasted data for investigation or just for letting you paste the data into a DPlot file and return it to me?

As a workaround I created the 'copy' already by reusing the equation in a new DPlot file. The data was calculated and not imported so right now no real need for the copy function. The example file I sent you was actually the file I wanted to copy the graph into. Tested copy from there as well but still a corrupted paste result.

Reported the bug for the sake of other DPlot users and possible future needs.
Haven't tested but an other approach might work for copying as well: export - import data.
_________________
Roberto
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 2289
Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi

PostPosted: Thu Feb 23, 2017 6:55 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
What do you mean with 'At your convenience...'?


When you have time.

Quote:
Reported the bug for the sake of other DPlot users and possible future needs.


Whatever the problem is, it won't be fixed until I see exactly what your copied data looks like. As I mentioned, copy/paste works fine for me with your graph and the decimal symbol set to a comma. So there's something else going on there.
_________________
David Hyde
support@dplot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DPlot Forum Index -> Bug Reports All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group