DPlot Forum Index DPlot
http://www.dplot.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Dplot Jr difference between versions

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DPlot Forum Index -> C, C++, C#
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
garumble



Joined: 11 Jun 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 2:22 pm    Post subject: Dplot Jr difference between versions Reply with quote

Something has happened to Dplot Jr between the two versions I have installed. I'm using the same C# code to send data to the application and on version 2.2.6.7 I get a legend and thin lines in the colors I specified. In version 2.3.0.3 I get thick lines in some default color and no legend.

Can you help?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 2310
Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi

PostPosted: Mon Nov 22, 2010 2:33 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Probably, if you'll send me your source. Off the top of my head my best guess is you have a default settings file (%APPDATA%\DPlot\Preferences\default.set) that is changing things. But I've been wrong more than once.

For what it's worth and as far as I can tell, the demo programs distributed with DPlot Jr behave the same way across the last dozen or so versions. But that doesn't mean I didn't foul something up.
_________________
Visualize Your Data
support@dplot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
garumble



Joined: 11 Jun 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 1:43 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

There is no default.set file that I can find. I looked in both All Users and my named directory.

How do I send you the source files?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 2310
Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi

PostPosted: Tue Nov 23, 2010 2:39 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Attach to an e-mail to support@dplot.com
_________________
Visualize Your Data
support@dplot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 2310
Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 3:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Thanks for the files. Since you aren't setting the line widths anywhere, DPlot Jr is using the default values it reads from %appdata%\dplot\dplotjr.ini. You can set the line widths with a LineWidth command.

Other than that, I don't see any problem with your source. I suspect something is going wrong here:
Code:
cmds += String.Format("[Legend({0},\"{1}\")]", i + 1, data.y[i].title);

but since you're using DPlot_SetErrorMethod(2), I'd also think that if there were a problem, you'd get a MessageBox telling you that.

I did notice that you're calling DPlot_Plot8 twice, the second time with a blank command string. Are you sure you don't have 2 plots and that the first one (obscured by the second) doesn't have the appearance you expect?

Unfortunately I don't know beans about SQL and of course don't have your data, so it isn't possible to compile and run your code. If you'll send me the compiled executable plus whatever DB files are needed I'll add a few traps to figure out why you aren't getting a legend.
_________________
Visualize Your Data
support@dplot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
garumble



Joined: 11 Jun 2009
Posts: 8

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:16 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Yes, there are two graphs one with the legend, and one without. When I minimized the one in front I see the other.

The previous version only generates one graph.

No idea why, but the lines are getting set to the correct colors now.

I'll add the line width setting to the code and remove one of the plot calls.

Thanks.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 2310
Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi

PostPosted: Wed Nov 24, 2010 6:46 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
The previous version only generates one graph.


If so then that's a bug in previous versions. You're clearly calling DPlot_Plot8 twice, which will generate two separate plots. If you recheck and find that only one plot is generated with an older (or current) version of DPlot Jr, please let me know.

Quote:
No idea why, but the lines are getting set to the correct colors now.


In the first plot, that's because the command string containing the [Color(...)] command is being sent. It isn't in the second plot (cmds = ""; )

Sounds like this is all worked out. If you run into any other problems please let me know.
_________________
Visualize Your Data
support@dplot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DPlot Forum Index -> C, C++, C# All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group