DPlot Forum Index DPlot
http://www.dplot.com
 
 FAQFAQ   SearchSearch   MemberlistMemberlist   UsergroupsUsergroups 
 ProfileProfile   Log in to check your private messagesLog in to check your private messages   Log inLog in 

Can't get rid of "Do you want to view the example graph

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DPlot Forum Index -> Bug Reports
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
John



Joined: 11 Sep 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 10:37 am    Post subject: Can't get rid of "Do you want to view the example graph Reply with quote

Tried looking for this as a previous issue, but couldn't find it, so here goes:

I installed DPlot as admin, but when I log in under a separate account, the message box with "Do you want to view the example graphs..." displays itself every time DPlot is launched whether I view them or just reply "no" the first time.

The problem does not occur if I am logged in as admin, but I avoid that working environment for security reasons.

Am I missing something, or is it more likely a computer-specific problem?

--John

----------
Using Dell Optiplex GX 260, Windows XP Professional SP3, Intel Pentium 4 @ 2.66 GHz, 512MB RAM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 2094
Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi

PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 1:30 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

John,
That MessageBox is displayed based on whether DPlot determines you are a "new user" or not. It bases that decision on whether the Init value in the [Version] section of %appdata%/dplot/dplot.ini is non-zero or not. My guess is that for whatever reason that file is not being created and/or updated (which would also mean that your most recently-used equations, most recently opened files, etc., were also not being saved). If you'll let me know what version of Windows you're running I can probably track this down.
_________________
David Hyde
support@dplot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
John



Joined: 11 Sep 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

PostPosted: Thu Jun 04, 2009 11:42 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

As for my OS version: Windows XP Pro SP3 (not sure if you need more than that).

Dplot is creating the file, but it appears that the [Version] section is being written incorrectly so that DPlot can't recognize it. Here's the DPlot.ini relevant section:

[Registration]
UserName=xxxxxxxxxxxx
RegistrationCode=xxxxxxxxxxx
[Macros]
PrintExamples=PRINT000.MAC
RedToYellow=REDTO000.MAC
MyFonts=MYFON000.MAC
[Macro Editor]
FontFace=System
FontSize=0x0010
readsheets &[Version]
version=2.2.6
Init=1

You'll note that the [Version] section is corrupted with the "readsheets &" text that is prepended to it so that DPlot doesn't know it exists. Otherwise the section does indicate it has already been run an initial time. And it's not a DPlot version-specific problem. It's been doing the same thing for other previous versions.

The admin's ini file prints correctly with [Version] on it's own line.

If you need more than the above, just let me know.

--John
_________________
--John
Using Dell Optiplex GX 260, Windows XP Professional SP3, Intel Pentium 4 @ 2.66 GHz, 1GB RAM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 2094
Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi

PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2009 10:16 am    Post subject: Reply with quote

John,
Thanks for the detailed reply. It looks like the Macro Editor is somehow botching up the ini file. I'll fix this as soon as possible.

In the meantime you can correct the problem you're having with Notepad. Open dplot.ini, delete "readsheets &" so that [Version] is on a separate line, and save.
_________________
David Hyde
support@dplot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
John



Joined: 11 Sep 2005
Posts: 12
Location: Salt Lake City, Utah

PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2009 6:00 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

Quote:
In the meantime you can correct the problem you're having with Notepad. Open dplot.ini, delete "readsheets &" so that [Version] is on a separate line, and save.


Already done. Thanks David for the quick response.

--John
_________________
--John
Using Dell Optiplex GX 260, Windows XP Professional SP3, Intel Pentium 4 @ 2.66 GHz, 1GB RAM.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message
DPlotAdmin
Site Admin


Joined: 24 Jun 2003
Posts: 2094
Location: Vicksburg, Mississippi

PostPosted: Fri Jun 05, 2009 7:01 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

You can possibly run into the same problem again when creating new macros. The next release will prevent the problem.
_________________
David Hyde
support@dplot.com
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    DPlot Forum Index -> Bug Reports All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group